Full member

The workshop on Delocalized Electrons in Atomic and Molecular Nanoclusters will take place July 22-28, 2016 in Erice (Sicily), Italy at the Ettore Majorana Foundation and Centre for Scientific Culture. For registration please go to


A wide range of important effects in nanoscience are connected with the presence and behavior of delocalized and mobile electrons.  Nanoclusters, as important testbed systems for exploring and developing quantum size effects, novel materials, and reaction pathways exhibit a range of phenomena which are highly sensitive to delocalized electrons’ mobility, screening, response, direct and exchange interactions, correlations, etc.  However, these phenomena are frequently discussed in non-overlapping venues, and the aim of the present workshop is to bring together researchers in adjacent fields to examine recent and future developments.  To keep the discussion focused, it will concentrate on free clusters and related systems.

Fundamental quantum phenomena
General shell effects
Ionization and collective states
Optical properties
Molecular and ionic nanoclusters
Quantum fluid clusters
Solvated electrons
Storage rings and traps

The program will include invited talks, selected oral presentations, a poster session and ample free time for individual discussions.  It is especially hoped that graduate and diploma students, postdoctoral fellows, and anyone who is interested in the interdisciplinary richness of the subject will be able to attend the Workshop.

Invited speakers:
    Rodolphe Antoine (University of Lyon)
    Markus Arndt (University of Vienna)
    Toshiyuki Azuma (RIKEN)
    Giorgio Benedek (University of Milano-Bicocca)
    Kit Bowen (Johns Hopkins University)
    Henrik Cederquist (Stockholm University)
    Juraj  Fedor (Heyrovský Institute)
    Gleb Gribakin (Queen's University Belfast)
    Hannu Häkkinen (University of Jyväskylä)
    Walter de Heer (Georgia Institute of Technology)
    Bernd von Issendorff (University of Freiburg)
    Koblar Alan Jackson (Central Michigan University)
    Franck Lepine (University of Lyon)
    Andreas Mauracher (University of Innsbruck)
    Catalin Miron (Extreme Light Infrastructure Project)
    Mark Pederson (Johns Hopkins University)
    Jan Michael Rost (Max Planck Institute, Dresden)
    Lutz Schweikhard  (University of Greifswald)
    Petr Slavíček (University of Chemistry and Technology, Prague)
    Frank Stienkemaier (University of Freiburg)
    Lai-Sheng Wang (Brown University)
    Thomas Zeuch (University of Göttingen)

E-mail me when people leave their comments –
Full member

V. Kresin, University of Southern California,
K. Hansen, Gothenburg University and Tianjin University

You need to be a member of The International NanoScience Community - Nanopaprika.eu to add comments!

Join The International NanoScience Community - Nanopaprika.eu