Announcing the Recipients of the ACS Nano Lectureship Awards

Announcing the Recipients of the ACS Nano Lectureship Awards

The ACS Nano Lectureship Awards honor the contributions of scientists whose work has significantly impacted the fields of nanoscience and nanotechnology. Charged with the difficult task of selecting just three award recipients—one each from the Americas, Europe/Middle East/Africa, and Asia/Pacific—the ACS Nano Lectureship Selection Committee has dedicated many hours over the past few months to the careful reading and discussion of the numerous impressive nominations we received.

We are now pleased to announce the winners of the inaugural ACS Nano Lectureship awards: from the Americas, Prof. James Tour; from Europe/Middle East/Africa, Prof. Luis Liz-Marzán; and from Asia/Pacific, Prof. Frank Caruso. These inaugural awards will be presented at the Spring 2012 E-MRS meetings in Strasbourg, France, where each recipient will give an invited talk.

Prof. Tour is T. T. and W. F. Chao Professor of Chemistry, Professor of Computer Science, and Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science at Rice University. His ground-breaking research on carbon nanomaterials includes a recent article in ACS Nano detailing how any carbon source—including Girl Scout cookies, cockroaches, or dog feces—can be used as the solid source for making pristine graphene.

Prof. Liz-Marzán is a Professor of Chemistry at the University of Vigo, Spain. His research focuses largely on the synthesis, characterization, and applications of nanoparticles and their assemblies. His achievements in synthesizing gold and silver nanoparticles of different shapes and morphologies helped give rise to the research field known as nanoplasmonics.

Prof. Caruso is a Professor of Chemistry and a Federation Fellow at The University of Melbourne. Using layer-by-layer particle–template assembly technology, Prof. Caruso is able to generate a variety of particles and capsules with engineered physiochemical properties and functionalities, aimed at improving medical outcomes in treating cancer and other diseases.

Thank you to everyone who sent in nominations, and congratulations to our ACS Nano Lectureship Award winners. We hope to see you at the Lectureship session in May spring E-MRS! Keep an eye out this fall for the 2013 Call for Nominations.

To learn more about ACS Nano, please visit

Views: 134


You need to be a member of The International NanoScience Community to add comments!

Join The International NanoScience Community

Welcome - about us

Welcome! Nanopaprika was cooked up by Hungarian chemistry PhD student in 2007. The main idea was to create something more personal than the other nano networks already on the Internet. Community is open to everyone from post-doctorial researchers and professors to students everywhere.

There is only one important assumption: you have to be interested in nano!

Nanopaprika is always looking for new partners, if you have any idea, contact me at

Dr. András Paszternák, founder of Nanopaprika

Partner network:

Next partner events of TINC

We are Media Partner of:



© 2018   Created by András Paszternák, PhD (founder).   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service